There are two content editor modes, the “Visual” editor and the “Text” editor. You can select which editor you want to use using the buttons at top right of the content editor.
The Visual Editor
The Visual editor will display your text and images in relationship to each other, similar to how they will appear on your website. It will not be an exact representation of how the website displays content and will likely look different on the website than it will in the editor.
The Visual editor provides two rows of toolbars. The top toolbar provides the most common editing functions along with a toggle to display (or hide) the lower toolbar. Passing the cursor over any icon will display its name.
The Text Editor
The Text editor will display your text along with the (mostly) HTML code. For example, if you add an image, then instead of seeing the actual image, you will see some code that will specify where the image is located, how it is to be displayed, and so on. Code is very specific. If you do not understand it or do not have specific instructions on how to edit it, then you are better off not using the Text editor.
Images, Video, Audio, and other Media
Above the edit commands (bold, italic, etc.), you will see the option to Add Media. Add Media allows you to add media, such as a pdf files, to your page. Once you click on “add media”, a pop-up will provide the following choices: Upload Files, Media Library, and Insert from URL.
The Media Library stores all of the media that you have uploaded. Once it is uploaded, you can find it there, unless you delete it. This is the default view for adding media, you will be shown a list of content in the Media Library. Use the page navigation at top right of your window to scroll through and look for your image. Click on the “Show” link to the right of your media when you find it, and this will expand to show its details. From there can you can edit how you would like it to appear in your current post or page, and use the insert button to insert it.
You can upload an image from your computer by dropping files onto the upload area or by clicking on the button “Select Files”. This will allow you to locate the file on your computer and upload it. Once an image has been uploaded it is stored with your WordPress installation and will continue to be accessible and usable again via your “Media Library”.
“From URL” allows you to enter in a web address, (i.e. https://www.smartcompetition.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/smart_logo.png), of where your desired image or other media file is located, if it is already available on the internet, and you know the address, and have permission to link to it.
Remove from a post or page. When you move your cursor over and then click on a piece of media in your Visual editor, formatting icons will display at top of the image. You remove a piece of media by clicking on the remove (X) icon.
Delete from WordPress. To remove a piece of media from your WordPress installation altogether, find that piece of media in the Gallery or Media Library, select to show its details, and use the “Delete Permanently” option at the bottom right of the screen.
When working on your webpage, if you click on an image you will get a quick edit toolbar that will allow you to change alignment, edit, or remove the image from the page. Clicking the “edit” button will open an “Image Details” pop up window. From here you will be able to update the caption, alternative text, alignment, size, and linking.
If you would like a text caption to accompany your image.
This is the text that will display in place of your image if your image, for whatever reason, does not.
Specify where you want the image to be displayed, in relation to where it was inserted in the body of your post or page – left, center, right, none.
Your options are: Thumbnail, Medium, Full Size, and Custom Size.
- Media – Displays the image with no other information.
- Attachment Page – A page for the image where users can leave comments.
- Custom URL – If you want the image to act as a link to something or somewhere else, you can enter that full URL address here, (http:www.smartcompetion.org).
Click update when you have finished making your changes.
Once you are done editing your post or page, if you have not already “published” it, then you will have the option to save it or publish it. (If you have already published your post or page, then the “Save Drat” option is no longer available.)
The following options are displayed at the top right of your screen, if you have not yet hit the “Publish” button. (See below for changes once you have clicked on the “Publish” button.)
- Save Draft – Once you create a post or page, it will not automatically display on your website, until you use the Publish button for that specific post or page. If you want to simply save your work, either for continued editing or to publish on a later date, then you can use the Save Draft button. This will save your work. You will be able to access this post or page at any time just as you would a published post or page. In the admin screen that displays your current posts or pages, the word Draft will be displayed next to the title of any article that is not yet published.
- Preview – Preview is not a saving option, just an option displayed under the Publish box along with the others. Preview opens a separate browser window and displays your post or page in the context of your website, so you can see exactly what it will look like once published. This is useful since, as stated above, what you see in your visual editor is not exactly what you will see on your website, based on the unique design of your website.
- Publish – When you hit the Publish button, your article is “published” to your website. That is, it will now show up on your website. Until you use the Publish button, it will still be in a draft mode.
- Move to Trash – You can delete your post or page from this screen using the Move to Trash button. Moving it to the virtual trash is a new feature to WordPress 2.9 that allows you to recover something if you change your mind after wanting to get rid of it.
- Status, Visibility, Publish immediately – These are further options that allow you to change the status of your article (Draft, Pending Review, Published); specify who can view your article (Publish, Password Protected or Private); and specify a specific date and time to publish your article rather than have it publish immediately once hitting the Publish button.
If your article has already been published, then the following changes will appear:
There will no longer be a “Save Draft” option;
The “Preview” button will change to a “Preview Changes” button;
The Publish button will change to an “Update” button.